42 Comments

It is all bread and Circuses. Democracy and republicanism are foreign imports. A monarchy and people under God is Irish. Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of our nation, for the sake of all nations of the world, with love, TRUTH and better ideas. Christ is King. Sober up, the party is over. There is much to look forward to 🕊️❤️🙏☘️

Expand full comment
Mar 8Liked by The West's Awake

Could be just hope on my part, but I think both ..

No and 60 to 65%....no at that!

I just really hope the country is aware of the government and others sinn féin, et all by now.. that their real loyalty is with globalist perversions of family and free speech! I hope we get this result, I think it's a real test and if I'm wrong...this will be very telling either way!

Expand full comment
author

talking to a few " normies " today and seems a Strong No vote is likely. Will be very interested to see what the final vote in Dublin City is though.

Expand full comment

Well you know what I'm going to say-

Do we really need women?

Or families?

Isn't the whole point of life to serve some silent master we've never even heard of, and for no particular reason, except that it says to do so on the telly, newspapers, billboards and radio? Correct me if I'm wrong here.

Expand full comment
Mar 8Liked by The West's Awake

Your not wrong CFC

Expand full comment
author

I've missed you Charlie boy :-)

Expand full comment

Every community deserves a resident pain in the neck.

Expand full comment
Mar 8Liked by The West's Awake

They'll fiddle it, so whats new?!

Expand full comment
Mar 8Liked by The West's Awake

I won't make a random guess, but I am curious about 'yes/yes' voters. Other than the usual suspects, I'd say it's just the easily led. I saw two FG canvassers handing out FG leaflets. I was looking forward to giving them an earful and questions they can't/won't answer. As I walked up, they ignored me! They were only giving leaflets to elderly people. That's their tactic: say it's about 'caring for the elderly' (it's obvs not) and mop up their vote.

As we saw, even the pretend rebels are advocating a 'yes/no'. But what I want to know is: are we in an echo chamber? Where are all the 'yes/yes' voters? We'll see in a few days I guess...

Expand full comment
Mar 8Liked by The West's Awake

It sickens me the way they target the elderly first, all the new laws; assisted decision making capacity act, assisted dying act, are weapons to take out the elderly first, and what constitutes “elderly” will reduce to age 50. Think they won’t get us there? Every policy, law, from electric cars to Wind turbines, to food production control, to health care policy, every government direction has population reduction at the core.

Expand full comment
author

Tend to agree with you, Niamh. In addition, shifting demographics will ensure a massive drop in the native population over the next 10 years

Expand full comment
author

Yes/yes voters I would say ( as I love to wildly speculate lol) work in academia and the multinational sector. Under 45 but above average incomes.

Expand full comment
author

That's interesting that they were targeting the elderly. But I guess they vote in the highest percentages too.

Expand full comment
Mar 8Liked by The West's Awake

Well I was informed this morning that all my sisters 4 and all my wife's sisters are all voting NO NO and all bringing a black pen with them , and based on the rest of the family they will not bother voting so I will call it 80% NO and 70% no , the 70% is because one in law was going for a yes until it was trashed out amongst the sisters. So bring on a general election while the people's gander is up .

Expand full comment
author

If a No vote that high. Varadkar will be

Sprinting to the government jet for exile with auld Klaus in Davos

Expand full comment

Well, they won’t consider him a steady pair of hands, that’s for sure. But the Irish media and press office will blag it for him and he’l wait for it to blow over

Expand full comment

Well that's me plan, not a bloody nose but a full knockout they deserve nothing less.

Expand full comment

What practical provisions do 41.2.1 and 2 provide? A subsidy or obligation of spousal support?

Expand full comment
author

Mmm.... definitely wouldn't describe it as obligations. I would have said protections rather than subsidy.

Expand full comment

What kind of protections? How is it currently applied in practice?

Expand full comment

39th: 52% No.

40th: 55% No.

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

Both no, 60 to 40. Ireland is waking up to the gobshites.

Expand full comment
author

Anything over 60 is a massive kick in the balls to the government and media. Might trigger an election.

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

There shouldn't be any confusion. If Martin, Varadker, McDonald & McAllese say Yes well then the answer has to be No & No

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

No all the way tell the creeps to get stuffed and vote no no

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

Family: 65% No

35% Yes

Care: 60% No

40% Yes

I think people are more confused about the Care Amendment, due to the gov. propaganda about sexist and old-fashioned language. Personally, I don't see anything sexist about the word mother and a mothers duty to her children is the most important duty a woman has! But the way they have twisted this amendment to appear like they are doing something great, instead they are removing a mothers protection, enshrined in our constitution.

Expand full comment
author

Older people around me seem to be equating a No vote on the care Amendment with infringing disability rights. Seems to be a bit of confusion about that one.

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

Yes, I hear you Gerry on that! I met an elderly man today, walking his greyhounds in Limerick, when I asked why he was voting yes, he said 'for you'! When I explained fully what removing 'mother' and the rights that we have at present from our Constitution meant, he actually looked a little distressed. But went on his way reading the flyer.

If only we could put Una McGurk on a flyer!! She is some woman. This man said he would look up the youtube video of Una! So hopefully he'll change to a No No tomorrow!

Expand full comment
author

Lovely story. Hopefully he will change his mind. I met Una for the first time recently she's a powerhouse!

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

I wish I was as confident as u Gerry. I think the Irish people are still on their ' look at how liberal and progressive we are ' phase and I'd be going 60:40 / 55:45 Yes . Social media can be a bit misleading where the hardcore on both sides tend to dominate

Expand full comment
Mar 8Liked by The West's Awake

I’m inclined to agree with you, please God we’re wrong

Expand full comment

Wd agree with. ‘Look how liberal we are’ attitude of many esp sectors of Dublin, but hope against hope for a NO /No

Expand full comment
author

I hear ya, Seanie. I was out about over 10% on the abortion referendum. Thought it would be a narrow 51 or 52% yes that time

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

No - just No, no, no, no, no.....

Expand full comment

I'd like this to be a plebiscite of satisfaction with the current government of occupation in the Dáil I'd hope for no more than 20% yes in either poll. My worry is that the natural "no " constituency will stay at home-I'd say the turnout won't be 30%. Have been leafleting in various parts of Donegal in recent weeks, and the level of apathy is frightening. #VoteNoNo.

Expand full comment
author

A lot of confusion on the text. I would say a low turnout is good for a No vote, maybe Chatting to my mother today and she was a No on the family one and border-line yes on the care one. A lot of her friends not voting due to lack of understanding.

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

What % turn-out do you expect Gerry?

Expand full comment
author

Mmmmm.....Good question. Under 50% I'd say. A lot of confusion.

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by The West's Awake

Agreed, people seem fairly disinterested. The No voters seem the most motivated voting block, though perhaps small. The boards.ie (very woke generally) thread on the topic is majority opposed to both.

Fingers crossed for two Nos tomorrow. The government were woeful in the debates, very entertaining and revealing!

Expand full comment

“People seem fairly disinterested” ? Say a lot about us

Expand full comment
author

That's good to know. About boards.ie. must take a look

Expand full comment